old school…

Its great to see my old New Testament prof online, with his articles and thoughts, poetry and fiction.

Richard Bauckham was supervisor for my undergrad dissertation, and the only lecturer I had consistently over 4 years of study at St Andrews.  Brilliant mind, wicked sense of humour, and a way of explaining things which made me hope NT lectures would never end (even if i did argue with him in seminars!)

He was also one of the lay ministry team at St Andrews Church when I was going through the whole “vocational discernment” thing, one of the few faces I would see on the East Sands on a blustery and cold Sunday afternoon, and someone on whose wisdom and encouragement I could depend.

Its a shame for the Students at St Andrews that he took early retirement – they have no idea what they are missing!

Head over and read his stuff 🙂

(sorry Richard – didnt mean this to sound like a eulogy!)

Leave a Reply

