Oy, Shorty!

More on “calling” in the Lent groups tonight and tomorrow, exploring aspects of  the story of Zacchaeus. Its one of the first bible stories I heard as a young adult (apart from the big seasonal stuff), and has stayed with me.  It always makes me smile, to think of this wee guy stuck up a tree trying to get a glimpse of Jesus, maybe even hoping to see but not be seen.  “Zacchaeus, get down from that tree – I’m coming to your house today” – we’re going to meet face to face instead of nose-to-navel, share food and talk.

Of course, everyone had a wee grumble – he’s not the most honest of blokes, wee Zak – tax collector, rogue, maybe even boosting his stature by being an angry shouty shortie, making it hard for others to like him or get close to him (regardless of his career choice). But in that simple acknowledgement, in that moment of naming and calling, Zacchaeus is transformed.  Christ calls to us where we are, draws us out of our insecurities, our fears, the prejudices that we and others use to bind us and limit us, and transformation comes.  Cool stuff 🙂

I am no longer my own, but Thine.
Put me to what Thou wilt,
rank me with whom Thou wilt;
put me to doing, put me to suffering;
let me be employed for Thee
or laid aside for Thee;
let me be exalted for Thee,
or brought low for Thee;
let me be full, let me be empty;
let me have all things,
let me have nothing;
I freely and heartily yield all things
to Thy pleasure and disposal.
And now, O glorious and blessed God,
Father, Son and Holy Spirit,
Thou art mine, and I am Thine.
So be it.
And the covenant
which I have made on earth,
let it be ratified in heaven.
Amen.

(The Methodist Covenant Prayer)

2 thoughts on “Oy, Shorty!

  1. Kenny says:

    You just like this story because you are an angry shouty shortie yourself!

  2. Ali says:

    cheeky beggar ;-P

    I don’t do angry and shouty, people dont take me seriously if I do that. I do manage to do “short” with considerable experience and expertise tho… 🙂

Leave a Reply

