As Lent begins…,

This time last year with all that was going on healthwise,  Lent was a difficult time.  With hindsight, it seems somehow appropriate to have been  struggling in such a deep way throughout the journey to Easter, following a dark journey to the Cross and Resurection, praying and hoping that resurrection and renewal would come for me also.

On the days when God seemed distant and detatched, this was my prayer and my anchor.  It still is, and i delight in its simplicity, honesty and humility.

Lord, You have always given
bread for the coming day;
and though I am poor,
today I believe.

Lord, You have always given
strength for the coming day;
and though I am weak,
today I believe.

Lord, You have always given
peace for the coming day;
and though of anxious heart,
today I believe.

Lord, You have always kept
me safe in trials;
and now, tried as I am,
today I believe.

Lord, You have always marked
the road for the coming day;
and though it may be hidden,
today I believe.

Lord, You have always lightened
this darkness of mine;
and though the night is here,
today I believe.

Lord, You have always spoken
when time was ripe;
and though you be silent now,
today I believe.

Expressions of Faith, Northumbria Community evening office

Leave a Reply

