Paper, paper, everywhere

nope – not the state of my desk or office floor (for a change!).

Lunch with our esteemed Ministry Development Officer today.  She’s asked me to consider writing a paper for the Thursday evening lectures at Glasgow Uni (for early in the new year) , so i’m looking at “personhood and community in an online age“.  See where i get with it. The other option is Sci-fi and the ethics of technology.  Both subjects are close to my heart (and imagination) and both are swimming around in my head right now.

She even suggested i think about a PhD!  me of all people!

I’ve contacted the Community manager of an online game I play, maybe get a little insight from the professionals!

3 thoughts on “Paper, paper, everywhere

  1. Eamonn says:

    Whichever one you decide on, it will be worth hearing. My own preference, for what it’s worth, would be for the first one.

    As for the Ph.D. – why not? Think about it!

  2. Ali says:

    I will think about it Eamonn – but as someone who left school with 1 “O” grade and not much else, I still lack confidence in my academic abilities (and thats despite an MTheol from St Andrews and an MTh. from Edinburgh!)

    Sometimes its the idea of acheiving more than was ever expected which is the scariest part – get told you’re the gormless little sister of the school brainbox for long enough, you begin to believe it. Sad how that kind of thing stays with us, regardless of what we acheive or how old we get.

    I received a helpful email back from Draakull (Not his real name …), the Community Manager at Star Wars Galaxies, and some very useful links/pointers, so i may well go with the first.

  3. Eamonn says:

    Neither of these august institutions gives away Masters degrees unless they have been earned the hard way. Courage!

Leave a Reply

